Birdman (2014)

Directed by: Alejandro G. Iñárritu
Produced by: Alejandro G. Iñárritu; John Lesher; Arnon Milchan; James W. Skotchdopole
Written by: Alejandro G. Iñárritu; Nicolás Giacobone; Alexander Dinelaris Jr.; Armando Bo
Starring: Michael Keaton; Zach Galifianakis; Edward Norton; Andrea Riseborough; Amy Ryan; Emma Stone; Naomi Watts
Music by: Antonio Sánchez
Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki
Edited by: Douglas Crise; Stephen Mirrione
Running time: 119 minutes
Language: English
Genre: Satirical Black Comedy-Drama

Seeran Review: Story of an aging theatre actor, who was once regarded for his performance as birdman fights back his position now. ‘And did you get what you wanted from this life, even so?’ ‘I did’. ‘And what did you want?’ ‘To call myself beloved, to feel myself beloved on the earth’ (Raymond carver, Late Fragment). Birdman or the unexpected virtue of ignorance. I loved the drums at the background.

What has happened, we see a meteor falling and immediately we see a guy in white underwear floating in the air. ‘How did I end up here? This place is horrible. Smells like balls’. We see the mac book and her daughter. The red light glowing. By the way I loved the drums BGM. ‘That wasn’t an accident’. I have been supposing that the intuition inside him was that of the old superstar, but with this scene I doubted if he posed the same power. I was surer that to be his inert voice when he dreams himself of a Birdman and comes to the theatre flying above.

‘Are you sure, it’s mine’. Who is going to be the father? ‘I think he is drinking real Gin’. The feeling when the actor gets when meeting an actor who can surpass himself were in the eyes of Robbin. During the kiss of the woman who had been a great fan of Birdman, her husband pulls her away. ‘A man becomes a critic when he cannot become an artist in the same way a man becomes a farmer when he cannot become a soldier’. Though that doesn’t go with me!

When her daughter cries at him of his reputation – ‘I mean who the fuck are you?’ ‘You doesn’t even have a Facebook page’. ‘You are not important get used to it’. He uses his power to revolve the wallet. I took this in a way that he thinks about his inert power of acting that is deep inside him and he is truly proud of it. I could also see that the final situation when his daughter comes to see him in the hospital reaffirms. ‘Let’s really fuck’.

‘I don’t feel threatened at all, have some self-respect’. Even though it may seem real the statement, doesn’t it the ability of the actor to consider that to be the real gun and act in that way? ‘That is because nothing is a problem for me on stage’. ‘I will pull your eyes from your head’. ‘I am you ass hole’. ‘He was never around’. When he comes from the behind the theatre also I was keen that to see if he got erection!

Though I got the reminder of Tamil film Kaaviya Thalaivan (2014), this film had its own difference in a sense of American taste.

It had one of the very different Cinematography.

Further Reading: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birdman_(film)

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

