No Country for Old Men (2007)

Directed by: Joel Coen; Ethan Coen
Produced by: Scott Rudin; Ethan Coen; Joel Coen
Screenplay by: Joel Coen; Ethan Coen
Based on: No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
Starring: Tommy Lee Jones; Javier Bardem; Josh Brolin
Music by: Carter Burwell
Cinematography: Roger Deakins
Edited by: Roderick Jaynes
Language: English
Running time: 122 minutes
Genre: Thriller

Seeran Review: Clear Thriller. As with thriller I always have this stop, regarding the time it has the capacity to thrill the viewers. Film begins – ‘I was sheriff of this country when I was 25 years old. Hard to believe. Grandfather was a lawman. Father too. Me and him was sheriff at the same time, he up in Plano and me out here. I think he was pretty proud of that. I know I was. Some of the old-time sheriffs never even wore a gun. A lot of folks find that hard to believe. Jim scarborough never carried one. Now I always liked to hear about the old-timers. Never missed a chance to do so. You can’t help but compare yourself against the old-timers. Can’t help but wonder how they would’ve operated these times. There is this boy I sent to the electric chair in Huntsville here while back. My arrest and my testimony. He killed a 14 year old girl. Papers said it was crime of passion but he told me there wasn’t any passion to it. Told me that he’d been planning to kill some-body for as long as he could remember. Said if they turned him out he’d do it again. Said he knew he was going to hell. Be there in about 15 minutes. I don’t know what to make of that. I surely don’t.’

Dog chasing will be effective in screens atleast for 30 years. Torch killing for 35 years. Chase at the hotel was good. ‘I feel overmatched. I always figured when I got older, God would sort of come into my life in some way. He didn’t. I don’t blame him. If I was him I’d have the same opinion about me that he does’ ‘You don’t know what he thinks’ old story of their aunty. ‘What you got ain’t nothing new. This country is hard on people. You can’t stop what’s coming.’ You should see it in the perspective of the sheriff. ‘I’m older now than he ever was by twenty years – – – so, in a sense he is the younger man. Anyway, first one I don’t remember too well but… it was about meeting him in town someplace where he gave me some money. I think I lost it. The second one, it was like we was both back in older times… and I was on horseback going through the mountains of a night. Going through this pass in the mountains. It was a cold and there is snow on the ground. He rode past me and kept on going. Never said nothing going by. He just rode on past. When he rode past I seen he was carrying fire in a horn, the way people used to do and could see the horn from the light inside of it about the colour of the moon. And in the dream I knew that he was going on ahead and that he is fixing to make a fire somewhere out there in all that dark and all that cold. I knew that whatever I got there he would be there. Then, I woke up’.

Anton Chigurh played by Javier Bardem will be remembered by all the audience forever. Link the first long dialogue with the end.

 

Further Reading: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No_Country_for_Old_Men_(film) 

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

