Gangs of New York (2002)

Directed by: Martin Scorsese
Produced by: Alberto Grimaldi; Bob Weinstein; Harvey Weinstein
Screenplay by: Jay Cocks; Kenneth Lonergan; Steven Zaillian
Story by: Jay Cocks
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio; Daniel Day-Lewis; Cameron Diaz; Liam Neeson; Henry Thomas; Jim Broadbent; Brendan Gleeson
Music by: Howard Shore
Cinematography: Michael Ballhaus
Edited by: Thelma Schoonmaker
Language: English
Running time: 168 minutes
Genre: Epic Period Drama

Seeran Review: ‘No son never, the blood stays on the blade. One day you will understand’. What else can be a perfect opening for a rising hero? But as the film proceeded with great pace leaving us to get away from the mere hero villain chess game. We see the priest Vallon (Liam Neeson) with a Celtic cross coming as if a lion coming from its den. ‘A few crusty bitches and a handful of rag tags?’ ‘See he gets good education’. I had the notion though there were many accompanying him. I saw in the crowd there will be only one guy (among the Irish) who do not rise his saw during the fight. New York 1846. As Amsterdam Vallan comes out of the Hellgate House of Reform, it was the first time I know of the presence of Mongolian race in America then!

‘Let no one even speak their name from this time on’ ‘Lincoln will make all white men slaves’ ‘Some of it I half remember and the rest I took it from the dream’  ‘you kill him where the whole court can watch him die’ ‘Hey you got any timber’ ‘Amsterdam. . I am New York’. ‘Only New York’. ‘Ay I walk with you a little then’. ‘I love the work with pigs’. ‘The nearest thing in nature to the flesh of man is the flesh of a pig’ ‘There was a baby they cut it out’. ‘I said you are turning your back on the future’ ‘Have I ever had you before?’ ‘So you don’t call me by my Christian name’. ‘Is there anyone in the five points you haven’t fucked?’ – – – Few moments when I enjoyed the movie.

‘Yes, You’ ‘I can’t sleep’ ‘I hope you don’t mind us laying out tonight here, sir’ ‘I have to sleep with one eye pen, I only got one eye, right? I’m 47 you know how I stayed alive this long? All these years? Fear somebody steals from me, I cut off his hands. He offends me, I cut out his tongue. He rises against me, I cut off his head, stick it on a pike… And rise it high up so all in the streets can see. That’s what preserves the order of things. Fear. That one tonight who was he? A nobody. A coward. What an ignominious end that would have been I killed the last honourable15 years ago. Since then, it’s… You have seen his portrait downstairs?’ ‘Is your mouth glues up with cunny juice? I asked you a question! ‘I said, I seen it, sir’ ‘Oh, you got a murderous rage in you, and I like it.  Lt’s life boiling up inside of you. Lt’s good. The priest and me, we lived by the same principles.  It was only faith divided us. He give me this you know. That was the finest beating I ever took my face was pulp my guts was pierced and my ribs was all mashed up. And when he came to finish me I couldn’t look him in the eye. He spared me because he wanted me to live in shame.  This was a great man a great man. So I cut out the eye that looked away. Sent it to him, wrapped in blue paper. I would have cut them both out if I could have fought him. Then I rose back up again with a full heart and buried him in his own blood. Well done. He was the only man I ever killed worth remembering. I never had a son. Civilization is crumbling. God bless you.’ – – – – – If you had seen the movie though, read out the dialogue once and then see the sequence to see the intensity. It was one of the most important sequence as it is like the prayer of Ravanan to Lord Shiva before the battle with Lord Rama. Don’t forget that Lord Hanuman is the incarnation of Lord Shiva.

‘In the end, they put candles on the bodies so is their friends if they had any could know them in the dark. The city did this free of charge. ‘It was four days and nights before the worst of the mob was finally put down. We never knew how many New Yorkers (This single word has much meaning in it as the word human – day will come without the invasion by aliens that all the humans will realise they need not be divided by nations) died that week before the city as finally delivered. My father told me we was all born of blood and tribulation. And so then too was our great city. But for those of us what lived and died in them furious days it was like everything we knew was mightily swept away. And no matter what they did to build the city up again for the rest of time it would be like no one even knew we was ever here.’ – – – Reminded of the sequence when Prince Andrew gazes at the clouds in War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. Those corrupted election makes us doubt if it was really as corrupted as that once.

Do you still think after just 50 years from your death people still will know you were here? Don’t feel for it, it is more important to live joyfully than to be remembered by the generations to come.

One among few films which I loved.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gangs_of_New_York

gangs_of_new_york_movie_70759-1920x1200.jpg

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

